AtariBoy

The Geek blog

The Digg Effect

with 3 comments

Yesterday i posted a useful tip on how to view peoples comments on myspace that arn’t visable on there profile because they are hidden by that user using html and css. I did this for a friend who isn’t particually tech-savy, so she could find out what people had been saying about someone.

Its not a hack, the information is there and readily available to read just that the link is not so the address has to be typed in, all i did was inform people of that address.

After a few other people told me they found this useful i though i would upload it to digg.com to make this information useful to others.

At time of writing my post has had 628 diggs, it made it onto the front page of digg.com sometime this morning before i woke up. By 9am the digg effect had set in.

As the graph shows the hits just kept coming! at last count they are at 11665 today, it makes all my other days hits look none existant!

And my post has made it onto the “Top Posts from around WordPress.com” and my blogis number 2 on the “Top WordPress Blogs today“, and number 3 on the “Fastest Growing WordPress.com Blogs“.

My personal website has seen 60 people that it doesnt usually as well.

I got a few flames and harsh comments, but nothing unexpected, this is the internet after all!

Looking at where the hits have came from it has also made it to the del.ici.ous popular page and the Diggdot frontpage (although i had never heard of it before today).
The story has now moved onto the second page of Digg.com, so i think the hit rate will drop, have to see how it goes tomorrow.

Thank you stacey for giving me the idea to post that blog :)

In other news my girly lauren has just started her first blog today on blogger.


Tags: , ,

Written by Atariboy

January 31, 2006 at 6:03 pm

Posted in Geeky, General, Myspace, Web

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amazing Atariboy. Due to you, I got 8 Hits yesterday!

    LOL! The Big Digg Effect rocks and you have the most popular WordPress Blog currently!

    Chrono Cr@cker

    February 1, 2006 at 1:51 am

  2. [...] The final count for hits yesterday was 14796 and 808 diggs, the post has been blogged in many places including myspacehacks, primehacks, populicio.us and hackerslife, and i hear from friends on my blogroll that they all saw an increase of traffic as well, it certainly was the digg effect, but now it looks like this: [...]

  3. Thank you so much for the codes you posted. I am able to monitor my teens “private” comments section. However, neither of the codes for blogs or friends lists work! I still simply receive the same msg. that this profile is set to private, blah, blah. I also tried with the ref. setting in Mozilla and again, I can access the comments only. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Also, is there a way to “approve” myself as a friend without alerting my teen?

    Felisa Bayze

    April 2, 2006 at 4:54 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

