AtariBoy

The Geek blog

That Atariboy gets Everywhere!

with 65 comments

I made it onto the top10 on Cocomment!!!

There is definatly quite a stir about this site, its going to be big, the simplest ideas usually seem to work the best, and this one is pretty simple and something i felt the need for the past few weeks.

Its currently still in beta and the invites are hard to come by, i got one off a fellow blogger, i think the best place to get hold of one is on the popular Scroblizer blog.

All you do is after you have finished writing your comment, press the cocomment bookmarklet, then hit the normal submit button and the comment/conversation will appear on Cocomments “Your conversations” page when you log in.

Being able to check and even be notified about responses to your comments on any blog, run on any of the six major blog bases (Blogger, MSN Spaces, MySpace, TypePad, WordPress and Xanga) all from one place is a bloggers dream, it means no more diving through your history to find that obscurely named blog that you were waiting for a comment from.

With Cocomment you can check on an rss feed or just go to the site and see all of the blogs you have commented on, if any have new responses they are bold, and then you can view the response from the cocomment site as well. The only step you have to take away from the “your conversations” page is to reply, and i can see that built-in replying cant be too far away either.

It could become like a blog viewing hub, there are a lot of possiblities for this idea, i hope they get it right, because if they do it could be huge!

There is also a greasemonkey script available here for automatically hitting the bookmarklet for you (thanks Ryan)

Dont forget to Digg this if you found it useful.


Tags: , ,

Written by Atariboy

February 5, 2006 at 11:38 pm

Posted in Blogging, Digg, Geeky, Software, Web

65 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Some more codes for you and your readers.

    8819-4330-7065
    0084-7075-7392
    0601-2776-1912
    8629-2042-4758
    9002-6621-7835

    Thanks for the feedback!

    Laurent Haug

    February 6, 2006 at 1:08 am

  2. Wow thanks laurent, glad you found the feedback useful

    oh and thanks for the digg, hopefully it will get on the frontpage andthen a lot more people will hear about it!

    I still keep forgetting to hit the bookmarklet tho, i’ll put the greasemonkey script on it in a bit.

    Atariboy

    February 6, 2006 at 1:14 am

  3. look whos #3 there. OH SNAP!

    Ryan B

    February 6, 2006 at 1:20 am

  4. You actually forgot to talk about the GreaseMonkey script mentioned on my post. :-\ It’s more helpful than the bookmarklet

    Ryan B

    February 6, 2006 at 1:46 am

  5. I’ve put some greasemonkey in it and a link to yur blog, you might see a few extra hits today too!

    Atariboy

    February 6, 2006 at 12:02 pm

  6. Wow, thanks for the invite Laurent.. I’ll be doing a review soon… CoComment seems to rock definitely!

    Chrono Cr@cker

    February 6, 2006 at 1:16 pm

  7. Damn it. The codes have been taken already. If anyone’s got an extra, Please mail me @ Coolcracky@gmail.com.

    And I’ll be doing some TEchnorating until then!

    Chrono Cr@cker

    February 6, 2006 at 1:24 pm

  8. i can definitely see the use of something like this. i personally probably wouldn’t though … most of my comments are one shots, then i’m gone. like this.

    dugg.

    mpmb

    February 6, 2006 at 5:05 pm

  9. I would like an invite as well! If you have one, please send to dissonance@gmail.com

    Thanks!

    joe

    February 6, 2006 at 5:38 pm

  10. excellent tool, something much needed. I’m very curious to see how it stands up to all the platforms, I’ve only been on it a few days now.

    Ryan

    February 6, 2006 at 5:43 pm

  11. Another one of your story on digg in less then 24hours? :)

    Congratulation my friend, Major traffic for you.

    Kiltak
    [Geeks Are Sexy] Tech. News

    Geeks Are Sexy

    February 6, 2006 at 5:57 pm

  12. Yeah 20000 so far today and i think i still have one story on the front page!

    Atariboy

    February 6, 2006 at 6:17 pm

  13. Damn…any more invites ???

    Marcelo Lopez

    February 6, 2006 at 6:25 pm

  14. this seems really cool, I’d love an invite.

    Ali

    February 6, 2006 at 7:08 pm

  15. I’d like an invite if any has an extra: jack@dtheatre.com

    thanks.

    joe

    February 6, 2006 at 8:03 pm

  16. I wish i could test it, this looking really great.

    shadow20002

    February 6, 2006 at 8:08 pm

  17. I would like an invite if anyone has one to spare.
    tvguy05@gmail.com

    Brad

    February 6, 2006 at 8:24 pm

  18. CoComment (WordPress tool with SEO implications?)

    I know we have a couple of SEO geeks here, so I thought I’d intro you to this tech and get your POV.

    Anonymous

    February 6, 2006 at 9:05 pm

  19. Very sweet! Ummm… I’d like a invite code… Please send to info@theblacklantern.com

    Diligent

    February 6, 2006 at 9:46 pm

  20. Would like an invite too if anyone can get me one: cmaxmagee@gmail.com

    Max

    February 6, 2006 at 10:07 pm

  21. thanks so much

    swiecki

    February 6, 2006 at 10:42 pm

  22. [...] Most of the bloggers out there already know about CoComment, but if you do not, this is the right place to find out what it does and where you can get it. (thanks to atariboy) [...]

  23. you need to install cocomment-promo.php and promote coComment in your comment form: http://andreib.com/blog/2006/02/cocomment-promo

    Andrei

    February 6, 2006 at 10:52 pm

  24. [...] Comment tracking for multiple blogs good idea, making the blogosphere more like a community? by Black Rim Glasses | posted in running Trackback URL | Comment RSS Feed Tag at del.icio.us | Incoming links [...]

  25. I am using coComment too. I really like it and am looking forward to new features. I can see this being one of the next big Web 2.0 applications!!

    screwtape

    February 6, 2006 at 11:59 pm

  26. This is a cocomment test

    edward301

    February 7, 2006 at 12:19 am

  27. great concept. clean converation tracking is the single biggest missing “feature” of blogging. However, I hope they implement something better than the bookmarklet. That seems like an ugly usability problem. A wordpress/MT/etc. plugin would be a nice solution instead.

    odk

    February 7, 2006 at 12:35 am

  28. if there is a spare invite, count me in. I have been interested in this sort of application for a very long time now. johnmulholland@fastmail.fm

    john

    February 7, 2006 at 12:45 am

  29. Needs digg.com support.

    Ryan Christopher

    February 7, 2006 at 1:36 am

  30. A rush of traffic/users from digg.com isn’t nessecaraly a good thing. Too much traffic can put too much pressure on the developers. The forums, with all those bugs, exploded overnight right in front of my eyes.

    Andrei

    February 7, 2006 at 1:38 am

  31. What the FUCK. I can’t comment on a whole bunch of blogs all of a sudden… but my comment shows up on coco. Is this post moderated or somthing?

    Andrei

    February 7, 2006 at 1:39 am

  32. Dugg :)

    MV

    February 7, 2006 at 1:40 am

  33. I dig it. Test. Test.

    Andrei

    February 7, 2006 at 1:41 am

  34. [...] I’m curious to know if there are any readers of ours out there using this tool? Read more about it here and here. On a whole other note, I’ve re-enabled the “Subscribe to comments” functionality that Oso had installed some time ago but which was sorta broken for a while. [...]

  35. would someone kindly give me an invite

    talkislam

    February 7, 2006 at 2:53 am

  36. Dude, You DON’t Need an invite to register. All that you have to do is simply give them your email address and they’ll mail you an invite themself, free!

    Chrono Cr@cker

    February 7, 2006 at 3:34 am

  37. [...] AtariBoy » That Atariboy gets Everywhere! Holy crap, a way to keep track of your comments across all blogs. I should have come up with this first. (tags: blogs comments) [...]

  38. sign me up, toby2punk@gmail.com

    Toby2

    February 7, 2006 at 5:03 am

  39. Hey if theres an invite available I’d appreciate it! logosmonkey(at)gmail(dot)com

    p.s.
    dugg

    logosmonkey

    February 7, 2006 at 5:21 am

  40. [...] I am sure most have you have already heard of coComment. I however, just stumbled upon it tonight via Digg which lead to atariboy. [...]

  41. [...] Posted on AtariBoy: That Atariboy gets Everywhere! [ atariboy.wordpress.com ] Technorati Tags: cocomment, blogging   [...]

  42. Logosmonkey & Toby, please read my comment above, you donot Need an invite..

    Man, I’m getting jumpy!

    Chrono Cr@cker

    February 7, 2006 at 9:37 am

  43. I think any blog with swearing in it gets automatically maoderated, and i didnt get round to moderating until this morning.

    Atariboy

    February 7, 2006 at 11:36 am

  44. Can someone send me an invite code please: mrd3sai [at] gmail [dot] com

    Thanks in advance!

    MrD3SAi

    February 7, 2006 at 1:59 pm

  45. [...] Here is the link to the dude I have just quoted, visit his site to see this coCommenting thing in screenshots. Don’t know why I am giving him more traffic, he is already boasting about the thousands of hits he is getting every day. Oh well, suppose I’m just lazy not writing my own description of coCommenting. I have used the word coCommenting a few times though, so hopefully that counts in my favour and drives the Google traffic my way. One more time. coCommenting. [...]

  46. [...] More info and invitation codes may be found here, here and here. Permalink | Comment | Print | Trackback url [...]

  47. I’ve downloaded the greasemonkey script, but how can I use it? I double-click it and it shows an ‘error’.

    drhaisook

    February 7, 2006 at 5:11 pm

  48. [...] I haven’t tested it much yet, will try to do that in morning, for now check Atari Boy’s blog for more information. [...]

    Aqeel’s Blog » coComment

    February 7, 2006 at 6:12 pm

  49. Drhaisook – you don’t need to click anything. install the script, restart Firefox, and return here. You should see your coComment name automatically appear by the submit button.

    Ryan B

    February 7, 2006 at 10:42 pm

  50. Hi. Would somebody give me a cocomemnt invitation code? Thanks.

    fatfingur

    February 7, 2006 at 11:17 pm

  51. For an invitation, your best bet is to ask laurent, the creator of coco, you’ll find him on his site here:

    http://www.ballpark.ch/blog/

    Atariboy

    February 7, 2006 at 11:20 pm

  52. I agree with Andrei. Too much popularity too soon for a service which wasn’t really supposed to go live yet is not necessarily good. I see more and more negative comments all over the place about how it’s not up to speed yet, lacks this or that essential feature, etc… What do you expect of a product which is (was?) supposed to be in “closed beta”, ie tested by a limited amount of people?

    Tolerance and patience, people. CoComment isn’t something you want to kill by telling it “it’s now or never, if you don’t work perfectly right now you really suck”.

    Steph

    February 8, 2006 at 8:25 am

  53. just testing out a cocomment firefox extension… let see if it works

    Atariboy

    February 8, 2006 at 1:30 pm

  54. Testing cocomment

    Matt Haughey

    February 8, 2006 at 7:52 pm

  55. [...] I really like coComment. It makes it easier for me to track my comments, and I have been using it for a little more than a week thanks to these posts. The problem I have with commenting is that it takes me away from being able to scan things. In order to follow conversations, I would need to remember to visit the site again. That was just a nuisance. I now no longer need to visit sites independently to follow the conversation, as I can merely go to coComment and see all of my various comments. It is still not quite complete–Blogger blogs that use Haloscan do not work with it as of this writing. Nonetheless, I like it since it allows me to continue to exist from within the confines of my aggregator. Go sign up for it! [...]

  56. [...] Atari boi with more on CoComment [...]

  57. I am playing with coComment tonight (took me a couple of days to make time).

    I am interested to see if it will track comments from non-cocomment users too. I could see this being possible for systems like wordpress that publish comment feeds.

    Jackson

    February 10, 2006 at 2:49 am

  58. Does it work Andrezw?

    Ryan B

    February 10, 2006 at 4:57 am

  59. Users of Cocomment can now invite people!
    This is way cool. The more people using this the better!
    Molly

    Phillip Molly Malone

    February 10, 2006 at 5:51 am

  60. Steph, that’s a good point. It just bursted like a boom and coCo is unable to handle the immense number.

    Chrono Cr@cker

    February 11, 2006 at 7:10 am

  61. has cocomment been down the last day? i can’t seem to access their website..

    Joy

    March 23, 2006 at 2:26 pm

  62. Quite possibly, i havnt been able to cocomment my own blog for about a week now, something is a little weird with them, hope they sort out the problems soon

    Atariboy

    March 23, 2006 at 2:47 pm

  63. [...] Cocomment is currently building up a lot of anticipation, lots of users cant wait for it to go live. I got the chance to preview the closed beta.read more | digg story [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

