AtariBoy

The Geek blog

Day of Defeat Free Weekend

with 9 comments

This coming weekend, valve are letting anyone try out Day of Defeat for free for the whole weekend!

Basically you can download steam and then preload  Day of Defeat this week, and when friday comes it will be unlocked for the whole weekend, allowing anyone to play for free. And come sunday i would imagine that the game will be locked and you will be given the option to buy the game, possibly at a reduced price, i think it is currently priced at $20, which is about £11.

If anyone does decide to try it out, let me know and i’d more more than happy to play with you and show you the ropes and tricks of DoD.

More details here

Written by Atariboy

February 7, 2006 at 8:03 pm

Posted in Day of Defeat, Gaming, Geeky, Web

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m downloading it now, if I remember and have time I will fire it up this weekend ;) Cool site. Ever play Planetside? I’m on that damn game again, but what can I say – it’s probably my favorite of all time.

    anomalous

    February 8, 2006 at 10:36 am

  2. I never played planetside, i didnt have an internet connection when it was released, but i read lots about it, the whole concept sounds really good, if you have a good squad behind you it would rock, I’m a big fan of team games like DoD.

    Atariboy

    February 8, 2006 at 10:44 am

  3. I wish they would make Battlefield Vietnam and turn it into an MMO game. That would seriously rock. DoD looks interesting though, and I have it completely downloaded so I might give it a shot this weekend.

    anomalous

    February 8, 2006 at 9:09 pm

  4. I have dl it but unable to play and cant understand why, im in the uk so would this be the reason, although after i dl it i had a countdown clock saying once clock reached 00.00.00 I can play dod, the clock has reach 00.00.00 and i still cant join any servers :$ I can click onto list of servers but when I try to join one nothing happens. 8-(. has anyone else had same probs?

    bigbird

    February 10, 2006 at 3:14 pm

  5. Ok i have found out problem why i cant connect and it seems like its to do with the time check it out here if you plan on playing it. 8-) http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=403431

    bigbird

    February 10, 2006 at 3:33 pm

  6. Hey cheers m8 i had the same prob and uve fixed it :P thx alot i was really tryin hard to work out wat the prob was!

    YouMoveYouLose

    February 10, 2006 at 4:21 pm

  7. teh sweets

    nobchedder

    February 10, 2006 at 5:15 pm

  8. I played earlier, and I liked it =) Has a kind of realismthat’s nice. The sound of distant gunfire sounds really cool. Although, I think the WWII games have been seriously over-done. :(

    anomalous

    February 11, 2006 at 1:19 am

  9. This is by far one of the greatest games in the WW2 recreation genre. If its up for free, you gotta check it out. Intense is all i gotta say.

    Brandon

    February 11, 2006 at 7:15 am


Leave a Reply

