AtariBoy

The Geek blog

Still going strong

with 53 comments

140,061 views in the past 30 days

Quite frankly i’m amazed that I’ve remained in the top 4 wordpress blogs for so long now!

I’d like to thank all my regular readers, also, does anyone read my RSS feed? i’ve never looked at it myself, and wordpress dont give you the stats for that (that i know of anyway).

So another week, another monday.

I’m hard at work trying to get as much project done before i see my tutor again so i havnt really got much time to blog at the moment, although i’m planning a battle of the IMs soon, so far i have:

Trillian, MSN, Yahoo, Gaim, AIM, Googletalk, meebo.com, Skype, ICQ, meetro and xfire

I’m sure there are lots more that i have missed so let me know and i’ll add them to the list. Unfortunatly its going to be a windows only affair, unless someone wants to do a guest post for Linux and or Mac, as i dont have enough access to either until easter.

When i was walking home in the freezing cold today i was thinking of things that i want to learn once i finish my project, computery things mainly especially stuff that would help me getting a job so far on my list is:

  • CSS and XHTML
  • Linux
  • PHP
  • Javascript
  • more C#

I have a little knowledge of most of them, but i want to expand on them so that if i put down on my CV that i know about them its not a complete lie!

Any more that employers look for?

Oh and one other thing that made my day, and some other students like myself may have forgotten… we still have one more student loan payment to come this year :)

Written by Atariboy

February 27, 2006 at 11:15 am

Posted in Blogging, Geeky, General, Web

53 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yep, I read the RSS feed – its the only way to fly.

    As for the Mac IMs, I might be able to hook you up. I use a PC in my home office, but I am a Mac man while on the road (which I am a fair bit).

    Brad Kellett

    February 27, 2006 at 11:36 am

  2. I set my girlfriend up with adium, and obviously there is ichat but im not a big user as i dont have one (cant afford it!)

    http://www.adiumx.com/

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 11:46 am

  3. D’oh!!! i forgot about ICQ

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 11:48 am

  4. I’d add SQL to that list (MySQL for PHP or MSSQL for C#)

    nitro2k01

    February 27, 2006 at 12:05 pm

  5. Good idea! are my and ms very different? I know very little about SQL in general.

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 12:10 pm

  6. Do you want an invitation to Mabber? It’s a jabber-based IM with a web and a mobile client.

    Dominik

    February 27, 2006 at 12:35 pm

  7. “Oh and one other thing that made my day, and some other students like myself may have forgotten… we still have one more student loan payment to come this year :)”

    Yep, and mine was spent some time ago! Doh!

    Stephen Davies

    February 27, 2006 at 12:36 pm

  8. Yes please Dominik, i’ll give it a go… Mabber me up :)

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 12:38 pm

  9. To complete the list: Meetro [ meetro.com ].

    Fluppe

    February 27, 2006 at 12:54 pm

  10. I’m just trying out meetro now, although atariboy was taken :(

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 1:05 pm

  11. My meetro name is “atariby” someone add me, there is no-one in plymouth with meetro!!!

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 1:14 pm

  12. Not bad! So far this month (according to Awstats) I have had 415,384 page views.

    Joe Anderson

    February 27, 2006 at 1:26 pm

  13. Wow, how long have you had your blog for then Joe?

    also i added skype to the list of IMs

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 1:31 pm

  14. I subscribe to your rss feed via bloglines.

    Jeff
    teknokool.net

    Jeff

    February 27, 2006 at 1:37 pm

  15. Since May 2005. I got on Digg’s frontpage twice this month though!

    Joe Anderson

    February 27, 2006 at 2:57 pm

  16. I get your rss feed in Thunderbird.

    I also suggested to WP that they add a second line to the traffic graph mapping traffic to the rss page. They’d have to find a way to track unique visitors, though, otherwise the numbers will be crazy from people who have theor rss reader to poll the feeds every 5 minutes. Shouldn’t be too hard though.

    I would recommend PHP/MySQL. Lots of fun to be had there.

    techandother

    February 27, 2006 at 3:19 pm

  17. I sent wp a suggestion for the blog stats page today:

    Hi, just a quick suggestion, how about a overal total views on your blog, or at least overall views for the past 7/30 days, i have to add mine up manually every time i want to work this out.

    Also is there any way to tell how many people are subscribed/read your blog from your RSS feed?

    Other than that i love the blog stats.

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 3:23 pm

  18. Is PHP/MySQL similar to ASP.net?

    I breifly glanced over ASP the other day in the back of a book i have, but never really looked into it.

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 3:25 pm

  19. The only time I’ve ever got accurate reading statistics for my feeds was when I used FeedBurner.

    Joe Anderson

    February 27, 2006 at 4:06 pm

  20. Dear Atariboy,

    We would like to introduce you to our Megite: What’s happening right now service. It is the newspaper for anyone interested in what’s happening right now by intelligently uncovering the most relevant items from auto discovered news sites and weblogs.

    If you have an OPML file and don’t mind to send to us, we can create a personalized Megite for you too.

    You can check our web site at http://www.megite.com

    matthew

    February 27, 2006 at 4:41 pm

  21. i subscribe to the feedss via google Reader!

    twilightown

    February 27, 2006 at 4:43 pm

  22. Your going to have to explain what an OPML file is to me, im a bit of a n00b when it comes to all these web standards and things, looks good tho.

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 4:51 pm

  23. I think i’ll have split the battle of the IMs into 4 sections:

    Windows
    Linux
    Mac
    Webbased

    Still looking for a Mac and a Linux writer

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 5:09 pm

  24. I am a Mac IM-er, so would be happy contribute to you mac 1/4 of IM client reviews

    yoharryo

    February 27, 2006 at 6:24 pm

  25. another RSS’er here… Gotta love Operas builtin RSS feed reader :)

    D

    DD32

    February 27, 2006 at 8:12 pm

  26. As I said in the first post Atariboy, I’d be happy to do some comparisons for you.

    And I would second the Feedburner idea, I use that for my feed and it is pretty much the only good way to get reliable stats.

    Brad Kellett

    February 27, 2006 at 8:51 pm

  27. I read via the RSS feed.

    glach

    February 27, 2006 at 8:53 pm

  28. Ok so we have Brad for the Mac section, jsut need a linux guy and we are set.

    What is this feedburner thing?

    I tend to pass on a lot of the web2 stuff, im jsut too lazy, i dont even use RSS (mainly because i couldnt find a good app or firefox extenison that suited me for reading them)

    oh and i’m not switching to opera before anyone says!!

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 9:27 pm

  29. I can test them on Linux but my english isnt quite good :/

    seifip

    February 27, 2006 at 10:30 pm

  30. You need VBA if you are doing databasing.

    Ryan B

    February 27, 2006 at 10:42 pm

  31. visual basic?! ewwww

    Atariboy

    February 27, 2006 at 10:44 pm

  32. yup, you’re in my “Sage” feedlist (firefox RSS reader plugin).

    I miss my student loan :(

    chris

    February 27, 2006 at 11:07 pm

  33. another RSS reader here

    (via bloglines… according to their stats there are about 106 of us subscribed via Bloglines) :)

    leisa

    February 27, 2006 at 11:41 pm

  34. Another RSS reader.

    Josue Salazar

    February 28, 2006 at 2:07 am

  35. Wow, 34 comments, you definitely are going strong man, keep it up! You rock! And I guess I subs to your RSS as well as I don’t have time to track everything.

    Chrono Cr@cker

    February 28, 2006 at 4:55 am

  36. Hell yah if you are planning to do databases

    Ryan B

    February 28, 2006 at 5:30 am

  37. Thanks Chrono, got lots of RSS chaps by the looks of it!

    and Ryan B, as soon as you say the word “database” it makes it sound soooooooo boring!!!!

    Atariboy

    February 28, 2006 at 9:35 am

  38. Hey, i’m new to wordpress. How do you check how many people view your blog?

    wagi

    February 28, 2006 at 12:21 pm

  39. In the dashboard section go to blog stats, I had to add up my daily views manually to see how many views in 30 days i had.

    Atariboy

    February 28, 2006 at 12:23 pm

  40. Wow… lots of comments!!! I would have liked to e the Mac writer :'( but Brad beat me too it. Damn. Oh well, I will read brads and point out any mistakes…. (no pressure Brad.. Muwhahahaaa)

    crazybarbour

    February 28, 2006 at 10:35 pm

  41. Andrew, not to sound rude. But if you were the computer geek you claim to be, you’d know that database skills is a thing employeers want. And how does it make it sound boring? Again if you knew about this, you’d know that you just set them up, not data entry.
    *sigh*

    Ryan B

    March 1, 2006 at 3:24 am

  42. not only does db sound nice but also os like windows, linux at least and at least 3 programming lang and not to forget scripting

    jean

    March 1, 2006 at 8:26 am

  43. Computer “Geek” not “Nerd”, databases dont excite me one little bit.

    Yes they may be good for employment but its really not something im particulaly bothered about at the moment, and visual basic is really not my cup of tea, i like my code to be nicely set out and ordered, visual basic looks like such a mess!

    I may look into them once i’ve learned all the interesting stuff i want to, but at the moment they are bottom of the list.

    Atariboy

    March 1, 2006 at 9:41 am

  44. Databases suck… sorry but I just finished my computing assignment and it was using VB and it was hell!!! :P

    crazybarbour

    March 1, 2006 at 2:58 pm

  45. I guess you should clarify what you mean by the first line? Since i did call you a geek.

    You can order VB fine, from what I have seen.

    Ryan B

    March 1, 2006 at 7:07 pm

  46. I find that VB has no real structure… I did my coursework using VB and I didn’t really know what was doing and found I could random guess and it worked. Know a lot more know tho.

    crazybarbour

    March 1, 2006 at 8:09 pm

  47. I think that nerd and geek are quite different things, a nerd may like databases, but geeky like more cool things like Quad SLI and flying robots with shotguns.

    To me databases seem much more boring but then it is an opinion and everyone has their own.

    An what i have seen of visual basic code, like crazy said, it has very little structure, obviously a good VB programmer/program would be just as good as something written in C# but again its an opinion.

    Atariboy

    March 1, 2006 at 8:23 pm

  48. Geeks are more into their gadgets and having fun, whereas nerds are into their work and learning etc. Usually they are boring, and very annoying (beating me in tests and such… which just isn’t on!) :P

    crazybarbour

    March 1, 2006 at 10:13 pm

  49. I found a frickin’ huge wiki page about IM’s. If this is not complete, I don’t know what is:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_instant_messengers
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_instant_messengers

    I hope I didn’t ruin your plans… ;)
    But then again, these pages also talk about IM clients that are discontinued, so….

    Good luck !

    Fluppe

    March 2, 2006 at 7:52 am

  50. WOW, great find Fluppe, i always forget about wikipedia.

    I think i’ll jsut link to this, i’ve got a lot of work on at the moment and those two pages have much more information than i could ever include.

    Atariboy

    March 2, 2006 at 10:46 am

  51. If you think about it Crazy, you will realize no language has a definate structure. Take JAVA, you make a method, you could have a few parameters, and you could do just about anything between the curly brackets. Same thing goes for HTML, PHP, and CSS, just to name a few. It all depends on what code you look at and how much you know. I used to visit a database forum. There was people that barely know what they were doing and their code went all over. The guys that have been working with it for years had cleaner code.

    Ryan B

    March 3, 2006 at 8:40 pm

  52. Ryan, we all agree that you are a 100% geek with loads of programming skill but don’t bore us to death. ;)) JK!

    As for the difference between geeks and nerds, geeks are more associated with Technology and stuff whereas nerds are with books. :p

    @Andrew: You can check how many people subscribe to your blog in Bloglines!

    Chrono Cr@cker

    March 4, 2006 at 2:07 pm

  53. Sorry that I have to show you guys you didn’t know what you are really saying?

    Ryan B

    March 4, 2006 at 11:12 pm


Leave a Reply

