Dual Monitors


It finally arrived at 9am this morning, of course i started setting it up straight away. I loved my Hyundia 19″ CRT, but the new Samsung 930BF makes it look blurry and dull. The picture quality is stunning, vibrant colours and sharp edges, makes me wonder how i ever coped before, no wonder i was getting headaches from my old screen.

Setup was very easy, just plugged in the DVI cable and the power, turned it on and it worked, and in windows its just a case of choosing to extend the windows desktop across onto the second.

For anyone whos wondering, to set a wallpaper to extend across both screens set the position to “Tile”.

This is the first time i’ve properly used two screens in windows, its a refreshing experience. Being able to watch a film or episode of simpsons on one screen whilst blogging or chatting on msn. At the moment i have 2 firefox windows open, one on each screen.

I’ve only tried one game so far, the magnificent Day of Defeat. The graphics look even better, sharper and clearer and the colours look fantastic, and thanks to a response time of 4ms the is no ghosting what so ever.
I’m very happy with it, although it does make me want to buy another one to replace my CRT, but im pretty skint now!

Oh and i got a free game too: Myst V: End of Ages

14 thoughts on “Dual Monitors”

  1. Yep garys right, you only need 1 mouse and keyboard, as you move the mouse across the gap it jumps onto the other screen, you can even put icons on the desktop on the other half.

    The task bar is the only thing that doesnt show on both screens is the task bar, it only stays on the left hand one.

  2. I do believe it is possible to even stretch the taskbar on both screens… Not sure how though, I have only 1 screen, so I can’t test it :P

    Nice screen by the way.

  3. I like the look of your keyboard is that the logitech gaming one with the lcd screen?…heard great things about those and how much did you pick it up for?

  4. Nice setup! I prefer my 23″ Apple Cinema though ;-)
    But honestly, i was actually thinking about attaching a 17″ or 19″ LCD next to it since it is really convenient to have messenger etc visible opened all the time.

  5. Yea, I use ultramon, it is great… We have it at work also where on some workstations we have up to 8 monitors attached(for like noc and monitoring workstations). I personally have 3 on my main desktop and use ultramon and it is great.

  6. Oh, and by the way I have the same monitor as you at home(except it is the black one(930b), I love them(i have 3 of them, and then 2x 712n’s for my linux boxes)

  7. I have a 4 monitor setup to watch the currency markets. One from the laptop, and then I use a triplehead2go from matrox for the other 3 monitors. 1 ViewSonic CRT and 2 Samsung LCDs all 19″. With the TripleHead2Go, . Try ebay for a deal on them.

  8. Hey I have the same keyboard and mouse as garry, they’re great!
    Im also using two 17″ LCD’s on my Nvidia 7600GT… in Vista RC1. Im running this really good prgramme that puts a screansaver as a desktop, its great, and even with it and glass running on 2 monitors im not getting any kind of slow down! The only thing i want now is to be able to extend the taskbar to the second monitor, the person that said in vista you can stretch the taskbar is wrong… at least in the test build im using – RC1 Build 5600.

    I would love to know a compatible prgramme to sretch the taskbar in vista, so if anyone knows one please tell me!

  9. I believe that MultiMon adds a second taskbar, as does UltraMon, but neither actually stretch the existing taskbar (ie. the clock etc. stays on the original).

    I think that nView stretches the taskbar properly, but not in Vista!!!! (it was meant to be vista compatible by spring 08, but nothing from nvidia yet!)

    I’ve spent ages looking for a way to stretch the taskbar, but no luck yet.

    Isaac

Leave a Reply

